top of page

So How's Nourish Going?

Hello fellow (or future) 131-er!

If you aren't sure, 131 is broken into 3 phases: Ignite, Nourish, Renew. I completed Ignite (high fat, low carb) and have been working through Nourish. Where Ignite is "high fat, low carb", Nourish is "plant based". Unprocessed, whole, clean, plants - especially green ones. Unlike ever before, I enjoy eating green things daily. Right now, I'm into asparagus, broccoli, sugar snap peas, a small amount of spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, garlic, green onions, and spaghetti squash. I'll mix and match as I please. Except for the sugar snap peas and spinach (with salad), I don't really eat the veggies raw. I sautée over coconut oil.

In the 131 program, the lessons in Nourish are all about micronutrients. If you sign up for the course, you'll learn about micros, supplements, gut health, Organic & GMO labeling (very informative), plus a few other topics.

Ignite was this interesting, exciting 4 weeks where I was onto something new. I was seeing fast results. My husband was motivated and on board with me. Then, something happened! Well, a few things happened! What I'm about to write, is just a little honesty about my personal effort to stay accountable to my meal plant based meal plan.

  1. My Birthday - A dieters mentality is, "Oh I reward myself with [crappy] food!" When my birthday came around, I really tried to fight these thoughts. But, my husband surprised me with a breakfast out at the cutest restaurant and I let go of my restraints. High carb, high sugar!! Yes! (NO!!!!!)

  2. I Lost Weight - What?! How can losing weight, fitting into your clothes, gaining solid knowledge of nutrition result in a return to bad habits? This is difficult to admit, but again back to dieter's mentality. In the back of my mind, I felt myself thinking, "Well, I've lost weight, now I can eat this. I can afford to eat the cupcake." No. That's not how nutrition works. Yes, there are times you can eat treats. But, I'm only 6 weeks into 131 and a lifestyle change. Giving myself a little fudge room here and there is really just opening the door to making poor eating choices daily. Then, I end up back to where I was 6 weeks ago.

  3. Stress - It's the end of the school year and I'm getting over the initial excitement of a "new toy". I can feel the stress settling in as I clean the classroom, finish assessments, and plan for our last week of class. Not to mention: traveling to Europe in 2 months, moving out of the apartment and across the country, setting up private health-insurance at the full rate, and starting a new online job all within a 3 month period. STRESS! I WANT TO EAT IT AWAY. I'm really trying to come to terms with the fact that I turn to food when I'm nervous or anxious. I'm trying to own up to it. In the moment though, it's like a light switches and the food floats into my mouth with no resistance. Ugh

So, that's how Nourish is going. Despite the struggles with self-control over the last 2 weeks. I truly am enjoying Nourish and the way I have been able to turn to vegetables as an energy source. I can honestly say for the first time in this life, "I love vegetables." Not all of them yet, but more.

I'm actually looking forward to intermittent fasting and the 3 day fast coming up. I felt so good after the last one and felt in charge of my hunger hormone. I've let the sugar creep back in and need to get it under control.

If you're interested in 131, I highly recommend it. I need the structure and education that Chalene's program provides.

Use my link to check it out, and if you sign up through me I get a little bonus! Here it is!

If you get distracted or discouraged, try to remember the little victories that are happening along the way. Here's one of mine:

Progress Photo!!

I'm waiting until the end of the 12 weeks to do hard numbers and measurements. But, I can already tell my body shape is changing. 4-5 weeks ago, I would NOT have fit in this shirt! I'm so excited to be wearing it again!

Until next time!

XOXO

Hanna

bottom of page