top of page

Breaking the Dieter's Mentality

I am 9 weeks into the 131 Method and some weeks are better than others. I find that even though I understand nutrition in a new way and metabolic flexibility, I still self-destruct by "eating out" or "cheating". What I didn't know about prior to doing 131, but am now starting to understand, is the dieter's mentality. If you struggle with dieter's mentality, you might find yourself thinking any of the following:

  • I deserve this [unhealthy] food, because I've been "so good"

  • I feel deprived

  • I'm going to lose some weight, then get back to the [unhealthy] foods I love and just maintain

  • Wow! I'm losing weight! - This thought is part of a dieter's mindset because it justifies these statements: 'I know I'm burning fat because I have incredible energy', 'I'm losing weight, but I'm really excited about feeling better in my gut, no more bloating'

  • Stress-eating (so guilty of this!)

  • I'll just finish this pack, so it's not in the house to tempt me anymore

I came up with this list, because these are the dieter's thoughts I have when healthy eating starts to get hard or I get stressed out. These thoughts also justify eating things that I know will harm my gut health, make me feel bloated, provided an instant shot of insulin that turns to sugar, cloud my thinking, and/or give me a headache. Dieter's mentality is knowingly eating something that doesn't further health goals.

Notice I said, "health goals" not weight loss goals. Another aspect of dieter's mentality is "weight loss". Think about the difference between "weight loss" and "fat burning". Weight loss can happen in an unhealthy way, while fat burning is preparing your body to burn through sugar stores and get to fat stores. It takes time and intention. Just because weight loss occurs, doesn't mean fat is being burned. If your diet goal is simply "weight loss", it's too easy to stop when you like the number on the scale. This does not include fat burning, muscle building, or the body shaping that happens when you eat healthy.

I saw this post the other day from model and fighter Mia Kang and loved what she had to say.

Below, I've copied her caption:

Left: 2015. size 2. I hadn't eaten solid food in 10 days and smoke a pack of Marlboro Lights a day. I was obsessed with my collarbones, ribs and hip bones showing. I was obsessed with having a thigh gap. I was about to shoot Sports Illustrated Swimsuit for the first time and was trying to look like a VS angel. I was told by the industry I never looked better but still had a little more weight to lose. I hated how I looked so much I thought I was fat and lived in constant anxiety. Right: Now. Size 8. I feel like I finally became a woman. I love my thighs, my curves. I love my strength and the fact I can probably whoop your ass. I still have insecurities as I adjust into my new body, just like everyone else. But I know my body, respect it, and love it. It isn't easy for me to post these pictures because I still have a disease that I have to live with for the rest of my life. A small part of me looks at me now and hates it. Eating disorders and body dysmorphia don't just disappear but you can learn how to manage it and heal. You can reprogram your thinking. I want to put the images out there that I never had. I want to show women that it's ok to gain weight. We have the pleasure of having fluctuating bodies, enjoy your curves, enjoy being a WOMAN. Be healthy and be confident. We have one body and one life, don't let your insecurities hold you back from happiness.

You can follow her here - missimiakang.

I love her honesty and that she would share this journey publicly. I don't know if she did 131, but she does show us that for her, weight gain was the healthy option. She also has the added effort of working through an eating disorder. For myself, weight loss may be the healthy direction - but, it can't be my primary goal.

My point is, we (I) have to get away from "I need to lose weight, I look terrible" and focus on "What will provide gut healing? Can I really eliminate brain fog? How do I manage bloating and BM's? What will provide me more natural energy? What will help me live longer?" In the process of answering these types of questions, weight loss may happen as a side effect of heavy living. But, to demonstrate that "weight loss" isn't the best gauge of health, take a look at the following 131 results!

Writing this is accountability for me. It's a reminder to myself, that my goal is health. I'm also admitting that even though I love the program, I am still working on breaking bad habits. The lessons and articles about hunger hormones and the preparation for a fast are a couple of tools that I have found to be helpful when I start sliding into old habits. I'm starting the last phase of the program, Renew, and I'm looking forward to starting again and doing better next time! If you struggle with dieter's mentality too, trust that in the 131 program you will get the tools for combatting those thoughts and habits.

XOXO

Hanna

P.S - If you're interested in signing up, here is my ambassador link! Going through my site will give me a commission, but I would share it with everyone no matter what, here is the regular site as well.

bottom of page