top of page

Ghrelin and Leptin, Oh My!

This week, Week 2 Nourish, I have been learning a little bit more about hormones. I knew about the "hunger hormone" and during Ignite and the Fast, I did not feel the hunger hormone anymore! That was one of my big take-aways from the Ignite phase.

(Disclaimer: I'm not a scientist, please forgive my choppy explanation of ghrelin and leptin!)

If you read my last post, you know that I've struggled to reign it in and stay focused during Nourish. Even though the Nourish food is delicious, I still find excuses to consume sugary treats and grains. So, right when I needed it the lesson for today was about Hunger and Appetite Control. I love the accountability I get from the lessons! I was reminded that the hunger sensations does not (always) mean true hunger! I also learned that hormones enact to create this feeling. We need it at times, but we are so used to self-medicating and rewarding and snacking that it throws the hunger hormone out of whack. I won't go into it too much, because I need to re-listen to the lesson before I feel ready to teach on it. Basically, Ghrelin is the hunger hormone that creates the hunger urge. Leptin, inhibits hunger. When we eat right and eat as needed, these hormones do their job the right way. Seriously - sign up and log in to 131 for these types of educational lessons! (I linked my ambassador link!)

Today, has been a great day! I said, "No" to my temptations. I outlasted the hunger hormone. And, I focused on high fat, low carb. I'm doing this to get back into fat-burning mode because I have a fast coming up. Also, when I say that I, "outlasted the hunger hormone" - I do NOT mean that I deprived myself of important nutrition. What I mean is that, I know my ghrelin is overdoing it because of the food choices I've made in the past few days. I know this particular hormone needs to get rebalanced and giving in to it is not the answer. I was feeling hunger at a time when I should not have been and did not truly need to eat. (Isn't this such a first-world problem? We are so overfed and indoctrinated to eat, eat, eat that we have to re-learn when it's appropriate to feed ourselves.)

On another note, I've noticed a particular inflammation response! I suspected that gluten/sugar was making me INCREDIBLY itchy. It went away when I started Ignite. A few bites here and there didn't bring it back. But, this week after a few cupcakes and pizza, wow, I'm so itchy again. For me, it's my shoulders and my stomach. If I turn the shower up to boiling it starts to relieve the itch...

So yeah, basically this ^^^

And, now I know for sure - I have a physical, real response to gluten and/or sugar! I shouldn't be "excited", necessarily. However, it's one thing to think - "This probably isn't good for me and it is probably harming my gut." It's another thing to think, "I know exactly what negative side effect will happen when I eat this."

This is what the 131 Method is all about - determining what inflammatory responses YOU personally have to certain foods. For me, it's just too hard to do alone.

Until next time!

XOXO

Hanna

bottom of page